New Craft Space!!!

I’ve been a crafter for as long as I can remember, since I was a small child.  Trying out all sorts of ventures from drawing, to scrap-booking, to jewelry, to crocheting, and everything in between.  So naturally I’ve always had elaborate visions of one day having my own incredible space to let my creativity take the forefront.  Well, I am elated to announce that this past week I decided to make that dream a reality!

I suppose, as is most often the case, this blog post requires a bit of background information.  My house is by no means large or elaborate, and we fill up the main area quite completely.  However, me and my pack rat self have been imagining endless possibilities for the unfinished basement since we moved in over five years ago.  It’s damp, there’s a giant crater in the floor full of water because we need a sump pump or we flood; it’s musty, but getting less so with a dehumidifier running; the coating on the concrete floor turns everything that touches it a strange orange color; and it’s loaded practically to the brim with… stuff!  Partially because I’m a pack rat and partially because I don’t know how to say “no” to acquiring things from others.  So one of my major goals for the new year was to organize the basement, donate a ton of stuff we no longer need nor want, and clean it up.  I legitimately thought this task was going to take me well beyond the end of 2017.  That’s how bad it was.  Fast forward to a week after the new year and I’ve been down there for hours each day, doing my best to chip away at the mountain of work without triggering my anxiety.  I swear I could be a hoarder, you know, one that doesn’t keep literal garbage and filth.  I’m honestly shocked that I’ve been able to get so much done without a mental overload and meltdown.  I’ve gotten most of the bins and boxes organized and sectioned off into their own areas.  I’ve also gotten everything that was in boxes organized into the plastic bins I’ve been able to empty throughout this process.  Finally, I won’t have to contend with so much mouse damage and grossness now that they have no cardboard boxes to nest in!  I still have a TON of work in front of me, don’t get me wrong, but I have made an insane amount of progress thus far.  Just a handful more bins to go through before I can officially say that my initial sort and purge is completed!

So here’s where the craft room comes in!  I realized the sheer volume of crafting materials I had on hand.  Not only squirreled away in various bins and boxes in the basement, but also shoved in every free nook and cranny in our main living areas!  So I decided on the goal of clearing out a corner of the basement for art.  It made the whole organizing and cleaning process much more worthwhile with an incredible prize at the end of the road.  I had a blast finding and exploring through all the supplies that came into my possession from both of my grandmothers.  I miss them dearly and it was nice to think of fond memories as I came across specific items.

It was amazing to rediscover items of my own that I could finally put back into use! I had endless amounts of decorations that were no longer on display or just never had a home in the rest of the house; yeah, I’m looking at you union jack bunting and the brick from my elementary school!  I even had two gorgeous shower curtains on hand that I picked up from IKEA on clearance a few years back that I could use to pretend my new space has more than just the framing for walls, plus another unused curtain from that same IKEA trip for the other wall.  I had two extra desks that needed use, and that’s not including the other two desks in our home that are already being used, haha.  I found a super old picture of my late kitty Cocopuff who gave me almost 20 years of companionship that I knew I needed to display.  A half painted blue bench now has a home.  And there truly is so much more that went into this space.  I am so proud of it, it feels like an extension of myself in that dark dingy corner that’s all dressed up in bright colors and full of misfit items.

 

craft-room-1-overviewcraft-room-2-wallcraft-room-3-cornercraft-room-4-deskcraft-room-5-bench

 

Leave a Reply

