Heartskulls Galore

My first venture into wire jewelry making meets my love for Alkaline Trio.

First post!!!  This is the project that was the catalyst for me to join the blogging world.  I asked my fellow Trio fans for feedback and was greeted with more compliments, love, and empowerment than I ever imagined I would.  Thank you guys!

I’ve had it set in my head that I’ve wanted an Alkaline Trio related necklace but just never really found what I was looking for anywhere.  My solution: make my own!  I’ve done hours upon hours of research looking for wire jewelry techniques and endlessly searching for tips and tricks to make the idea in my head a reality.  Thanks to my lack of internet searching skills I came up mostly empty handed in regards to figuring out my design.  However, I learned enough that I thought I could at least give it a go.

So off to the craft store I went!  Now, this doesn’t appear to be a huge moment in my process, but guys, I went to Michael’s… A L O N E!  As a stay at home mom to a 2 year old and an almost 7 year old that was a major deal.  I’d also like to add here that my husband and I share a car that he takes to work almost always, so I really really don’t go out ever on my own.  I spent what felt like an eternity (it was 30 minutes) scouring the beads, wire, and I’ll admit it, the yarn section that I didn’t need anything from.  Nevertheless, I snagged a few skeins for a newly planned scarf for someone amazing as a thank you for helping me through rough mental health patches.  I digress, back to the jewelry task at hand!  I ended up snagging some cheap aluminum wire to practice my technique, a cheap set of jewelry making tools, and two different types of skull beads.  One bead had the look I loved (see picture) and the other was the size I’d originally thought I’d wanted, but looked a little like a strange shoe.  The different skulls also had varying bead hole direction, one vertical, one horizontal, I thought it would help my learning process and filter through my options more extensively.  Did you sense my theme there?  Cheap and lots of options.  Armed with knowledge of the sales and two different coupons, I made out like a bandit.  I was prepared for having my plan turn out awful and didn’t want to invest too much just in case.

As for trying out my (lack of) skill, I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly and easily wire bending came.  Now, I’m absolutely sure that when I invest in some quality wire that’s a bit more sturdy I’ll have a little more trouble.  But I’m doing a lot of practicing and it’s most definitely getting easier.  The consistency is the hardest part to nail down.  The photo that goes along with this post is my first attempt, and my fourth.  BIG difference.  Although I need to combine the two to get my ideal pendant.  The arrow and smooth curves of the fourth attempt, but the plump heart shape of the first.  To tell you the truth, I’m actually so in love with my first one, despite its wonky wire ways.

Originally I planned this project as a necklace pendant for myself.  But I’m also very excited to look into ways of making this a pin.  Either way, I’ll be practicing my metal bending (yes an Avatar reference) and broadening my crafting horizons.  Perhaps someday in the not so far off future I can make these available to my fellow Trio fans and go on a mission to get some to Derek, Matt, and Dan.

 

I hope this first post was coherent enough, and if you’ve made it this far, THANKS!

Feel free to put some feedback in the comments!  I’d love to hear what you have to say.

 

 

Leave a Reply

